Photo by Tadeusz Lakota on Unsplash

Rainbow Bridge

NITEWRITER
3 min readJun 5, 2023

--

I have a huge heart for all animals. Especially dogs and horses. I find myself worrying about the dogs in my life (mine and my mother’s) and almost always end up in a caregiver situation with them.

As I write this, I’m sitting at my mother’s house with her beagle. She was admitted to the hospital yesterday so I’m here, home and at the hospital running myself ragged. Her dog, Buddy, is a mess without his momma here. He sees her car and can’t quite figure out why she’s not getting out. I stayed here with him until 4 am and went home to my 2 dogs, Marley and Bear. Marley is a Great Pyrenees and Bear is a Labrador Retriever just to catch you up. I would take her dog to my house to simplify things but my dog’s, I’m afraid, would tear him to shreds. They are extremely territorial and Bear is aggressively jealous.

I used to have another dog. She was a mutt, medium sized, black and white marks like a cow. She was the very best dog I’ve ever had. Something transpired one day on my porch. At this time I had three. My two current dogs, Bear and Marley and there was also Jazmin, the dog I mentioned above. I’m still not clear on what exactly triggered my dogs but it was about to change my state of mind I a bad way.

No sooner than I noticed the dogs seemed off a fight broke out. Jazmin was not a fighter. She was truly a lover. Bear had her and was attacking her in the worst ways…

--

--

NITEWRITER

I'm a 46 yr old female that doesn't see color. I love dogs, reading and writing. I'm hoping to one-day write as well as all that I've read.